Design Excellence Award Registration


• Entry Forms and Fees due: July 25, 2016
• Submissions due: August 22, 2016
• Jury: September 2016, Baltimore
• Recipient Notification: at Awards Celebration November 11, 2016 at Pennway Place



Architecture: The architecture category recognizes design excellence in completed buildings. Submissions shall be in the following subcategories for architecture [square foot (s.f.) is gross]:

S – Small ranging from 0-10,000 s.f.
M – Medium ranging from 10,001-50,000 s.f.
L – Large ranging from 50,001-150,000 s.f.
XL – Extra Large ranging from 150,001+ s.f.

Interior Architecture: The interior architecture category recognizes design excellence in building interiors, not associated with a completed building. Interiors under a separate contract as a completed building may be submitted in this category.

Concept: The concept category recognizes design excellence in conceptual work; including but not limited to research, innovation, planning, urban design, competitions, etc. Work for academic credit and by Associate AIA are eligible.



AIA Kansas City Chapter members who are registered architects are eligible regardless of project location.

Registered architects practicing in Kansas City are eligible regardless of the project’s location.

Work located in the Kansas City metro area designed by any registered architect is eligible regardless of the architect’s residence or location of primary office. If the design architect is not registered in the state, the state licensed architect of record must be credited.

Associate chapter members, student or university studios may submit projects in the Concept category only.

There are no time limitations for any submitted project. EXCEPTION: All previous Unbuilt winners are eligible to resubmit in a built category once the project has been completed.

Work by the firm of a design professional serving as a juror is ineligible.



Upon receipt of the completed electronic entry and full payment, entrants will receive access to online program to fill out their submissions by July 27.

Fees cannot be refunded for entries not submitted.



Material submitted will be used by the AIA Kansas City Chapter for unrestricted publicity. Each entrant must ensure all elements of each submission are clear for reuse and reproduction. The Chapter will not assume responsibility for copyrights or photographic fees. A photograph of each winning entry will be used for unrestricted newspaper and magazine publicity.



Celebrating the excellence of the winning submittals and the efforts of all award entries, award recipients will be announced during The AIA Kansas City Design Excellence Celebration.


Fill out my online form.
View Mobile Site